FBCCI president called for focus on high value garment exports

Desk Report: The first meeting of the FBCCI standing committee on RMG, knitwear and sweaters etc. held at the FBCCI office on Saturday in Dhaka .While speaking as Chief Guest, the FBCCI President Mr. Md. Jashim Uddin called for focus on high value garment exports. He said, despite being the second largest exporter of readymade garments, Bangladesh mainly exports relatively cheap garments.


FBCCI President Mr. Md. Jashim Uddin has called upon the entrepreneurs of garments and textile industries to diversify their investments to improve the situation. Hence the FBCCI Chief urged the entrepreneurs to invest in manmade fiber sector.

Mr. Faruque Hassan, chairman of the committee and president of BGMEA, said a study is going on to explore the new items which the producers might be good at, and also to identify the new opportunities to expand their investments. At the same time, he said, exporters are often reducing the prices of their products by competing with each other. The BGMEA president called for an end to the competition.
Meanwhile, BKMEA executive president Mohammad Hatem proposed to form different sub-committees on the banking and financial sector, power and energy, finance ministry and labor ministry to solve problems of the garment industry.
The members of the committee present at the meeting said that harassment of the Customs and Bond Commissionerate is now the biggest problem for them. Businessmen are also facing hurdles in importing various raw materials due to HS code complications. Entrepreneurs also think that the law needs to be amended for wastage recycling. At the meeting, FBCCI Director and Director-in-Charge of the Standing Committee on Land Ports, Bijoy Kumar Kejriwal, said his committee would do its utmost to help resolve any issues regarding land port.
Also present at the meeting were FBCCI Director Harun Or Rashid, Secretary General Mohammad Mahfuzul Hoque, Standing Committee Co-Chairman Abdullah-al-Mahmud Mahin, Enthekhabul Hamid Apu, Shams Mahmud, Fazle Shamim Ehsan, Mohammed Kamal Uddin, Anjan Shekhar Das, Humayun Kabir Selim and other members.