FBCCI to award scholarships to 30 students annually; MoU signed with Asian University for Women

FBCCI will award scholarships to 30 female students per year for higher education. Awarded students will have the opportunity to study at the Asian University for Women.

In this connection, FBCCI on Saturday signed a MoU with the university. FBCCI President Md. Jashim Uddin and Vice-Chancellor Dr. Rubana Huq signed the MoU on behalf of their respective organizations. The MoU will remain effective for 5 years initially.

While speaking at the signing ceremony, FBCCI President Md. Jashim Uddin said, out of the responsibility to the society, FBCCI comes forward to enable underprivileged women with the access to higher study. This initiative will improve women empowerment and participation in the country’s development process, the President noted.

FBCCI Chief Md. Jashim Uddin said, other countries maintain an intimate relationship between academia and industry. Bangladesh also needs to enhance the collaboration. Therefore, FBCCI has established linkages with BUET and North South University.

Vice-Chancellor of Asian University for Women Dr. Rubana Huq mentioned, underprivileged women have to struggle with many hurdles in accessing higher studies. Her university aims at inclusiveness to ensure that no women are left behind. Currently 1300 female students from 19 countries are studying in Asian University for Women, she informed.

Earlier in his welcome speech, FBCCI Senior Vice President Mostofa Azad Chowdhury Babu commemorated the great contributions of the Former President late Annisul Huq to the development of trade and commerce and the construction of different chambers’ infrastructure. The University may give priority to the Kurigram District while selecting students, the Senior Vice President urged.

The founder and CEO of Asian University for Women Kamal Ahmed said that no country can move forward leaving half of the population behind. He also called for ensuring quality education and universal right to higher education.

Among others, FBCCI Vice President Md. Amin Helaly, Salahuddin Alamgir, Md. Habib Ullah Dawn, M A Razzak Khan Raj, Directors and Secretary General Mohammad Mahfuzul Hoque were also present at the signing ceremony.